Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Mon, 03/01/2021 - 19:03

Devdutt Padikkal continues to make waves in domestic cricket

01 Mar, 2021
Devdutt Padikkal continues to make waves in domestic cricket
01 Mar, 2021 By Editor

Karnataka's latest batting sensation Devdutt Padikkal continued his stellar performance with the willow as he brought up his third successive century against Railways in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy. His 125-ball stay at the crease included 9 boundaries and as many sixes, helping Karnataka to qualify for the quarter-finals. The youngster constructed his innings to perfection. Initially, he employed a measured approach, taking 60 balls to bring up his fifty. After reaching the fifty mark, he launched an assault on the bowlers and raced to the three-figure mark in the next 33 deliveries.

A comprehensive 10-wicket-victory saw the defending champions finish on top of Elite Group C. 

His Bradmanesque numbers in the Vijay Hazare Trophy have left the cricketing fraternity in complete awe. In the 16 matches he has played so far, the southpaw has accumulated 1,181 runs at a mind-boggling average of 129.17. Since August 2019, he has compiled a total of 3,411 runs in just 67 matches across all competitive tournaments. The above-mentioned statistics elaborate his consistent run in the domestic cricketing circles.

A look at the records broken by Devdutt Padikkal during his unbeaten century against Railways 

  • He holds the record for the most number of consecutive centuries [3] by a Karnataka batsman in national one-dayers.  
  • The Edappal-born cricketer also equaled the record of most number of consecutive fifty-plus scores [5] by a Karnataka player in Vijay Hazare Trophy. He now shares the record with two other Karnataka players - Manish Pandey and Mayank Agarwal. 

 Devdutt Padikkal, who was instrumental in leading Karnataka to a podium finish in the last edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, will once again be crucial to the team's prospects of defending the crown. The knockout matches are scheduled to commence from the 7th of March in Delhi. As per BCCI's official website, Arun Jaitley Stadium and Palam Ground will be hosting the matches.