Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Tue, 01/24/2023 - 13:28

Smriti Mandhana among 4 Indians to be named in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year

24 Jan, 2023
Smriti Mandhana among 4 Indians to be named in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year
24 Jan, 2023 By Editor

The ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year was announced today and four Indians made the cut after what can definitely be deemed as a very special year for the Indian women in the shortest format of the game. From phenomenal batting displays to sizzling all-round performances, the 11 players who were chosen as a part of the team were in absolutely extra-terrestrial touch, helping India secure a few important laurels throughout the year.

Here are the 4 Indian players who were picked for the prized team and their scintillating numbers:

1.    Smriti Mandhana

India’s illustrious opener, Smriti Mandhana had a phenomenal year hammering 594 runs at a fine average of 33 and a brilliant strike rate of 133.48. She also smashed 5 half-centuries from 21 innings including one in the Asia Cup final. The opener blasted the half-century in the final from just 25 balls while also smashing two fifties in the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. She finished as the fourth highest run-scorer in the year in Women’s T20Is.

2.    Deepti Sharma

The all-rounder made all the right noises with her all-round displays in the shortest format of the game in 2022. The off-spinner managed to claim 29 scalps, the joint third-highest by any bowler in a calendar year in women’s T20Is. Averaging 18.55 with the ball, Deepti was also miserly with her economy being slightly north of 6 runs per over. She was also in phenomenal touch with the bat as she managed to garner 370 runs averaging 37 while also managing to score at a strike rate of 136.02.

3.    Richa Ghosh

India’s new hard-hitting revelation, Richa Ghosh made this a year of some exotic strikes, resorting to the aerial route frequently, showcasing her striking prowess against Australia of late. Registering a strike rate of 150, she scored 259 runs, hammering 13 sixes with the bat and also bookended India’s lower-middle order. Her unbeaten 40 from just 19 balls at Brabourne was a blazing testimony to her striking ability.

4.    Renuka Singh

Once the legendary pacer Jhulan Goswami hung up her boots, there were doubts about the posterity of the Indian fast bowling but now it seems to be in safe hands through that of Renuka Singh. Claiming 22 T20I wickets at an economy rate of 6.5, Renuka helped India impose themselves in a much more menacing incarnation. From the 7 T20Is that India played against Australia, Renuka bagged a whopping 8 wickets while showcasing the world her true colours in the Commonwealth Games, bagging 17 wickets from 11 games at an economy rate of 5.21. 

Here is the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year:

Smriti Mandhana

Beth Mooney

Sophie Devine (cap)

Ashleigh Gardner

Tahlia McGrath

Nida Dar

Deepti Sharma

Richa Ghosh (WK)

Sophie Ecclestone

Inoka Ranaweera

Renuka Singh