Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sun, 09/20/2020 - 18:08

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad prepare to renew rivalry

20 Sep, 2020
Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad prepare to renew rivalry
20 Sep, 2020 By Editor

Far from the country dotted with scenic foliage, rich history, and echoes of belief, the Dubai International Stadium takes centrestage as Royal Challengers Bangalore square off against Sunrisers Hyderabad in a riveting contest. 

There is a substantial shift in the RCB set-up just after the coaching staff had been redecorated last year. With Simon Katich and Mike Hesson assuming the key roles, one can see the dressing room vividly gleaming with optimism and vigour. The team boasts of several multi-dimensional cricketers who append versatility and depth to the unit. The likes of Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Dale Steyn bring the experience component to the table. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad, packed with destructive top-order and impactful bowlers, will look to start the proceedings on a good note. The two vital cogs of SRH, David Warner and Jonny Bairstow, will seek to safeguard the relatively inexperienced middle-order.

Match Details 

Date: Monday, 21 September 2020

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium

Time: 7:30 PM (IST) 

Players to watch out for 

RCB’s anthem, Yuzvendra Chahal’s batting and a whole lot of excitement ahead of the IPL keep social media lively

Virat Kohli 

Matches: 177 | Runs: 5412 | Avg: 37.85

The skipper of RCB has obliterated innumerable records in the Indian Premier League. A striking feature of Virat Kohli has been his ability to adapt, from someone who plays a perfect foil, to one who can offset any bowling attack with his wide repertoire of shots. The 31-year-old will unquestionably be the key component to Royal Challengers Bangalore's success in the Dream11 IPL. 

AB de Villiers

Matches: 154 | Runs:4394 | Avg:39.95 

Lightning-quick hands, astute cricketing mind, and brilliant hand-eye coordination - AB de Villiers has portrayed several exceptional batting spectacles for RCB, pulverising the best of the bowling attacks in the competition. The veteran batsman's USP lies in his unorthodox stroke-making and his ability to outsmart the bowler with a plethora of shots in his armour. 

Yuzvendra Chahal 

Matches: 84 | Wickets: 100 | Avg: 23.18 

Virat Kohli has always entrusted Yuzvendra Chahal to provide the breakthrough at different junctures of the game. Despite the small dimensions of the boundary at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Chahal's moxie and tactful bowling made him a uniquely formidable spinner to face. Given that the UAE tracks will provide assistance to the spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal will understandably be the spinner to look out for.

David Warner 

Matches: 126 | Runs: 4706 | Avg: 43.17 

Belligerent, tough as nail, and fierce - David Warner has been a devout performer for the Hyderabad-based franchise over the last few years. The southpaw has dominated attacks, topping the batting charts, time and again, in the competition.  With his free-wheeling strokes, there's no denying the fact that he's going to be a major contender for the orange cap.

Rashid Khan

Matches: 46 | Wickets: 55 | Avg: 21.69 

Arguably the most potent weapon in SRH's bowling armour, Rashid Khan's bagful of tricks is sure to bamboozle any batsman. The 22-year-old, with 56 wickets, has been a revelation for Hyderabad, not only for the number of breakthroughs he gets but also because he’s been difficult to score off.

Head to Head record in IPL 

Matches - 15

Sunrisers Hyderabad - 8

Royal Challengers Bangalore - 6

No result  - 1 


RCB: Virat Kohli, Parthiv Patel, AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shivam Dubey, Aaron Finch, Umesh Yadav, Adam Zampa, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Dale Steyn, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Isuru Udana, Devdutt Padikkal, Shahbaz Ahamad, Joshua Philippe, Pavan Deshpande.

SRH: David Warner, Rashid Khan, Sanjay Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Abdul Samad, Mitchell Marsh, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Fabian Allen, Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Bavanaka, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Virat Singh, T Natarajan, Kane Williamson, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Siddarth Kaul, Priyam Garg