Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Wed, 08/17/2022 - 18:47

India looks to maintain winning streak as bilateral ties resume against Zimbabwe after 6 years

17 Aug, 2022
India looks to maintain winning streak as bilateral ties resume against Zimbabwe after 6 years
17 Aug, 2022 By Editor

Team India will be back in action as they take on the Zimbabwean challenge that is all set to go forth from tomorrow at the Harare Sports Club as a new-look Men in Blue will be hopeful of a victorious outing before the Asia Cup kicks off within just ten days from now.

India has been on song in the 50-over format with clinical wins against West Indies and England on away turfs. India has secured 11 wins out of the last 12 ODIs that they have played where they have bossed the imperious likes of West Indies twice and England once.

Zimbabwe has been in sublime form of late as they schooled a visiting Bangladesh after the latter had a soaring start to the T20I series. The depth exhibited by the Zimbabwean batting unit was too hot for Bangladesh to handle.

However, a considerable bit of work needs to be done on their bowling as they leaked significant runs throughout the tournament except in the finale where the surface was conducive for the bowlers.


Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly bossed Zimbabwe like none other as the duo piled up 1377 and 1367 runs respectively which still remains the highest runs by individuals in the Indo-Zimbabwean ODI rivalry.

India has been undefeated in the last 9 years as they are on a 12-match winning streak against Zimbabwe since June 24th, 2013 when they drubbed the hosts at Harare.

Team India has five 300-plus scores against Zimbabwe wherein the latter’s highest score against India in ODIs is 289 which came a decade ago.

In the prolonged rivalry between the two teams, Ajit Agarkar’s exemplary display made him the leading wicket-taker with 45 wickets, 6 ahead of the nearest contender, Heath Streak.

Match details:

Zimbabwe vs India (1st ODI, ODI series)

Harare Sports Club, Harare

18th August 2022

12:45 PM IST


Total matches: 63

India: 51

Zimbabwe: 10



Regis Chakabva (c), Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Ryan Burl, Innocent Kaia, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Clive Madande, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano


KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed