Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Tue, 11/21/2023 - 12:07

BCCI announce Indian squad for T20I series against Australia

21 Nov, 2023
BCCI announce Indian squad for T20I series against Australia
21 Nov, 2023 By Editor

As the World Cup met its conclusion, Team India will gear up for their next clash, yet again against Australia, this time for a five-match T20I series. Suryakumar Yadav will captain the squad, which features young blood with the senior players rested after the World Cup campaign.

The T20I series kickstarts on 23rd of November and the Men in Blue will be hoping to write off their earlier agony by taming the mighty Aussies. Under the leadership of SKY, Team India will be setting sights on getting their team up and running ahead of the T20 World Cup next year.

Hardik Pandya was the first choice for captaincy for the upcoming series but an ankle strain has forced him out for at least six to eight weeks. 

One of India’s leading run-scorers in the World Cup, Shreyas Iyer has been rested for the first three T20Is and will be joining the squad as Surya’s deputy in the final two T20Is. 

The venues for this series were also announced as the BCCI picked Visakhapatnam, Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Raipur and Bengaluru to host the five matches between these two powerhouses of Indian cricket.

India squad: Suryakumar Yadav (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad (VC), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.


1st T20I: November 23rd, Visakhapatnam

2nd T20I: November 26th, Thiruvananthapuram

3rd T20I: November 28th, Guwahati

4th T20I: December 1st, Raipur

5th T20I: December 3rd, Bengaluru