Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sun, 11/19/2023 - 11:00

World Cup crown awaits as India and Australia clash in the grand finale

19 Nov, 2023
World Cup crown awaits as India and Australia clash in the grand finale
19 Nov, 2023 By Editor

With the bones chewed out, what now remains is that final battle of the ongoing World Cup that will be pitting the best against the best as we wait for the new World Champions to be crowned. The two oppositions in this battle of epic proportions are age-old foes as India and Australia come face to face in a contest of massive proportions.

India are yet to face a defeat in the tournament and Rohit and his men will like to keep it that way. With that being said, Australia are a side that turns into an unstoppable machine once they hit the knock-outs. Back in 2003, the final hosted India and Australia and the scar tissue lives on a couple of decades later.

With that being said, this is a new Team India, fearless, hungry and one that has its eyes set on the grand prize. Australia, though, will be excited about the fact that they are coming together as a team and the battle between the two sides will be a perfect fit for the World Cup final bill.

India will be pinning their hopes on the top-order that has been in vehement form while Australia will be eyeing their X-factors completely change the complexion of the game as the crown of the World awaits.

Venue Watch:

The surface in Ahmedabad is a featherbed and both sides will get ample assistance during their batting. Dew can be a factor here too which may come later on in the game. The average scores range close to 250 that gives out the impression that both the teams will have a contest of muscles in terms of their batting strength.

Head to Head:

Matches played: 150

India – 57

Australia - 83

Match Details:

Match – India vs Australia

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Date: 19th November, 2023

Time: 2:00 PM

World Cup face-offs:

Matches played: 13

India – 5

Australia – 8


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Australia: Pat Cummins (C), David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (WK), Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa.