Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sun, 12/03/2023 - 11:12

Team India look to make a statement against a desperate Australia in T20I series’ final game

03 Dec, 2023
Team India look to make a statement against a desperate Australia in T20I series’ final game
03 Dec, 2023 By Editor

A convincing series win for Team India will be opening up significant space for the Men in Blue to have a closer look at their bench strength as the final match of the series awaits at  Bengaluru. It was a convincing display from the young Indian squad, which defied all odds to peg back Australia emphatically.

The last game of the series will be an important one for the Men in Blue as they will be hopeful of making a statement through a victory, while Australia, despite losing out on the series, will try and cut down their losses. For the Men in Blue, we may see a few shuffles in the playing XI, particularly the likes of Shivam Dube and Washington Sundar who may finally find a place in the playing XI.

It is going to be interesting to see whether India persist with Deepak Chahar, who was expensive in the previous game or get back to Prasidh Krishna, who had a forgettable night against Glenn Maxwell. For the Aussies, it is more about trying to enforce themselves upon the Men in Blue as they desperately look around for a second win in the series.

Venue Watch:

Namma Chinnaswamy Stadium has always been a featherbed for the batters and the kind of surface that it still has to offer will be conducive for run-scoring. As the match progresses with the dew coming in, the batting is going to get a lot easier in the second half of the contest. 16 T20Is have been hosted here out of which six have been won batting first while nine have been won chasing.

Head to Head:

Matches played: 30

India – 18

Australia - 11

Match Details:

Match – India vs Australia

Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Date: 3rd December, 2023

Time: 7:00 PM


India: Suryakumar Yadav (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (WK), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Australia: Travis Head, Aaron Hardie, Tim David, Matthew Wade (C/WK), Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff, Tanveer Sangha, Kane Richardson, Matthew Short, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Chris Green, Ben Dwarshuis.