Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Wed, 08/04/2021 - 12:18

Team India aims to begin their 2021-23 World Test Championship cycle on a high note

04 Aug, 2021
Team India aims to begin their 2021-23 World Test Championship cycle on a high note
04 Aug, 2021 By Editor

Test cricket is back! England is all set to play host to Team India in a five-match Test series at home. The battle of heavyweights gets underway on August 4 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham. With quite a few uncertainties during the build-up to this series, it has undoubtedly opened the door for a number of players to prove their potential. It is, without a doubt, the most awaited Test series of the English summer.

The new World Test Championship (WTC) cycle for both England and India begins on Wednesday. Virat Kohli’s Team India will be looking to record their second-ever win in the longest format on English soil. The Three Lions, on the other hand, will be looking to settle the score against the tourists after losing 1-3 earlier this year in India. When two of the most prominent teams in Test cricket over the last decade meet, one can expect this series to exceed all expectations.


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed that opening batsman Mayank Agarwal, who was hit on the helmet during the practice session while batting in the nets, has been ruled out of the first Test match. After conducting the tests, the on-ground BCCI medical team stated that the 30-year-old has sustained a concussion.

Earlier this week, England vice-captain Ben Stokes announced that he would be taking an indefinite break from all forms of cricket to prioritise his mental wellbeing. The all-rounder has been a key player for his team. With him not being available, there will be a vacuum and a big shoe to fill for the hosts.

Battles to watch out

  1. James Anderson vs Virat Kohli
  2. Joe Root vs Mohammed Shami
  3. Stuart Broad vs Rishabh Pant

Head-to-head stats

  • Matches: 126 
  • England wins: 48 
  • India wins: 29 
  • Draws:49


England: Joe Root (c), Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Zak Crawley, Rory Burns, Craig Overton, Dominic Sibley, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope (wicket-keeper), Mark Wood, Sam Curran, and Ollie Robinson.

India: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, and Suryakumar Yadav.