Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sun, 10/18/2020 - 15:50

Sunrisers eye redemption against Kolkata Knight Riders

18 Oct, 2020
Sunrisers eye redemption against Kolkata Knight Riders
18 Oct, 2020 By Editor

The Kolkata Knight Riders face Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Sunday. 

Following a few forgetful outings, Dinesh Karthik handed over the captaincy reigns to Eoin Morgan. The move, however, didn't reap instant rewards as KKR slumped to an 8-wicket defeat to Mumbai Indians on Friday. What KKR will be keener about would be to bring in more intent and relentless approach in their batting, an area where they have struggled the most this tournament. The form of their top order - Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, and Nitish Rana - has been a major cause of concern. Andre Russell has been woeful with his all-round abilities this season. The issue has to be put into the spotlight and needs to be immediately addressed If KKR are to progress much deeper into the tournament. 

On the other hand, SRH have a lot in common with their opponents. The over-reliance on the top order has been a matter of concern. The team is also plagued by the inconsistency in the bowling department. Unarguably the most potent weapon in SRH's bowling armour, Rashid Khan, has tapered off much to the disappointment of the team management and fans. Bhuvneshwar Kumar's injury hasn't helped their cause either. 

The David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad will be looking to avenge their previous loss when they face Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday afternoon. 

Match Details

Date: Sunday, 17 October 

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium

Time: 3:30 PM (IST)

Form Guide 

Sunrisers Hyderabad - WLWLL

Kolkata Knight Riders - LWWLL 


SRH: David Warner, Rashid Khan, Sanjay Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Fabian Allen, Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Bavanaka, Prithvi Raj Yarra, Virat Singh, T Natarajan, Kane Williamson, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Siddarth Kaul, Priyam Garg

KKR: Dinesh Karthik, Shivam Mavi, Tom Banton, Sandeep Warrier, Kuldeep Yadav, Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine, Nikhil Naik, Manimaran Siddharth, Andre Russell, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna, Shubman Gill, Nitesh Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rinku Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, Chris Green and Rahul Tripathi.