Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sat, 04/03/2021 - 17:31

RCB will have Padikkal open the batting with Virat Kohli: Brad Hogg

03 Apr, 2021
RCB will have Padikkal open the batting with Virat Kohli: Brad Hogg
03 Apr, 2021 By Editor

The countdown to the start of the 2021 Vivo Indian Premier League has begun, and teams are preparing for the upcoming season. The Royal Challengers Bangalore are currently preparing at Chennai's Center for Sports Science (CSS) for their first-ever match against the Mumbai Indians.

With the much-awaited match on cards for the opening night, what would be RCB’s likely combination? Former Australia spinner, Brad Hogg uploaded a video on his YouTube channel explaining how RCB would be looking to adjust their playing eleven for the first match.

Devdutt Padikkal to open with Captain Kohli

“They will have Padikkal open the batting. I think he did a fantastic job last year and is another Indian talent coming through. Opening the batting with him will be Virat Kohli. I think that is his prime position. He will be able to time the ball, pierce the gaps during the powerplay. His role will be to bat through the whole innings,” Brad Hogg stated in a video uploaded on his YouTube channel.

ABD and Maxi - the anchors of middle-order

"You have got AB de Villiers coming in at no. 3 and then Glenn Maxwell to finish off the innings at no. 4. I will have Dan Christian coming in at no. 5, another power-hitter, and Mohammed Azharuddeen. I think that particular six would be dominant in this year's IPL," Brad Hogg said.

Kane Richardson is Hogg’s fourth overseas option

“We have got Washington Sundar at no. 7, who is also a big-hitter and can do some damage there. We have also got Siraj and Saini, two frontline Indian fast bowlers, who have got a bit of experience now being in the Indian setup. Kane Richardson for me is coming in at no. 10 and Chahal at no. 11,” Hogg added. 

Brad Hogg’s ideal XI for RCB: 

Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson, and Yuzvendra Chahal.