Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Tue, 06/15/2021 - 14:56

Rahul Dravid to be Team India's coach for the Sri Lanka tour: Sourav Ganguly

15 Jun, 2021
Rahul Dravid to be Team India's coach for the Sri Lanka tour: Sourav Ganguly
15 Jun, 2021 By Editor

Team India is set to tour Sri Lanka in July for a bilateral limited-overs series. Starting 13 July, India will play three ODIs and three T20Is against the island nation. This series is set to feature a number of new faces. 

Earlier this week, the All-India Senior Selection Committee announced the squad for the Sri Lanka tour. Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed captain, with pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar serving as his deputy.

With the limited-overs series with the second line of contingent given a go, reports surrounding who would be the coach made the air. Ever since the series was made official, numerous sources started to claim National Cricket Academy (NCA) director and former India captain Rahul Dravid would put on the coach's hat for the tour.

The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly confirmed the reports, stating that the 48-year-old will be Team India's coach for the Sri Lanka tour.

“Rahul Dravid will be the coach for the India tour to Sri Lanka,”  Dada told the Indian Express.

As per a report on Cricbuzz, T Dilip and Paras Mhambrey will be on Dravid's coaching staff for the white-ball series. The two would serve as fielding and bowling coaches, respectively.

This is going to be the first time in recent times when two Indian national teams would take the field simultaneously in two different series. 

India squad for SL tour

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh.

[With the Indian Express and CricBuzz inputs]