Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Fri, 09/15/2023 - 11:20

India eye victorious finish to Super Fours against Bangladesh

15 Sep, 2023
India eye victorious finish to Super Fours against Bangladesh
15 Sep, 2023 By Editor

With a berth in the 2023 Asia Cup guaranteed, India will look to test their bench strength in a face off against Bangladesh in both the teams’ final Super Fours clash. The Indian batting unit faced a steep challenge while braving the Lankan unit, particularly from Dimuth Wellalage, and it will be interesting to see how they counter the Bangladesh bowling unit.

Bangladesh will be without their key player, Mushfiqur Rahim, who has been granted an extended leave by the Bangladesh Cricket Board to be with his family. His absence opens up an opportunity for the likes of Towhid Hridoy and Liton Das to take up the run-scoring, and they will be hopeful of finishing the tournament on a high with an upset win against India.

The Indian batters will like to amend things after a sloppy showdown against Sri Lanka wherein their top-order had glimpses of brilliance coming alive with Rohit Sharma smashing another half-century. However, Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill, if included into the side, will like a few runs under their belt as well before heading into the final.

Bangladesh have no chance of making the final and will be expected to give it their all, hoping to take some momentum into the World Cup that is slated to be played in India later in October.

Venue Watch:

The track has now shown two contrasting signs where India had more of a cakewalk against Pakistan with the ball barely moving around, however, with Sri Lanka, things were entirely different with Wellalage running riot. With the nature of the track still in question, it is safe to say that the team batting first will have a slender edge while the ones coming out to bat under the lights may have to exert themselves smartly.

Head to Head:

Matches played: 39

India – 31

Bangladesh – 7

Match Details:

Match – India vs Bangladesh

Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Date: 15th September, 2023

Time: 3:00 PM


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, K L Rahul (wk), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Jasprit Bumrah.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.