Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sat, 06/22/2024 - 17:24

India eye semi-final berth with win against Bangladesh

22 Jun, 2024
India eye semi-final berth with win against Bangladesh
22 Jun, 2024 By Editor

With a victorious start to the Super Eight campaign, Team India got their wheels in motion against Afghanistan. A fine show of batting from Suryakumar Yadav laced with a sensational display from India’s pace duo of Arshdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah sealed the day for the Men in Blue.

The next challenge will witness India going head-to-head against Bangladesh. A victory in this contest will be a mammoth step for the Men in Blue towards the semi-finals. As things stand, India and Australia have secured a win each and are currently the favourites to advance from the group. A win for the Men in Blue will almost confirm their berth as that will eliminate Bangladesh. While if Australia gets the better of Afghanistan, it will be curtains for the latter as well.

Bangladesh has improved by leaps and bounds in recent years and will be hopeful of producing a stunning display against India. Time and time again, they have come close but that hasn’t been enough for the Tigers. With their chances in the World Cup dangling by a slender thread, expect this battle to be a full-blown contest of two rivals who have seen each other for a while now.

Venue Watch:

The last match played at the venue saw Bangladesh and Australia duking it out for supremacy and the surface offered a balance contest of the bat and the ball. Bangladesh couldn’t make the most of it but the Aussie batters were quick to latch onto the cue and destroy their counterparts. The new ball gets a decent bit of purchase from the track while in the second half, spinners find themselves thriving.

Head to Head:

Matches played: 13

India: 12

Bangladesh: 1

Match Details:

Match – India vs Bangladesh

Venue: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua

Date: 22nd April, 2024

Time: 8:00 PM

World Cup face-offs:

Matches played: 4

India: 4

Bangladesh: 0


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib. Travelling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud