Defending Champions Australia to host 2022 T20 World Cup across seven venues

16 Nov, 2021 By Editor

International Cricket Council has confirmed the dates and venues for next year's T20 World Cup to be held in Australia. The tournament will kick off on October 16th and till November 13, with seven Australian venues hosting 45 matches.

Iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground will be hosting the final on November 13, while the two semi-finals will be played on November 9 and November 10 in Sydney and Adelaide respectively.

"With the unprecedented disruptions over the past two years, bringing the ICC Men's T20 World Cup to Australia for the first time offers a perfect opportunity for fans across the whole country to experience the joy of a live global sporting event again," said Michelle Enright, the tournament's CEO.

"The ICC Women's T20 World Cup in 2020 produced some incredible moments and created memories that will live with Australian cricket fans forever. Now it's time for the men’s event to take centre stage and claim its own place in history,” he added.

Defending Champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh have qualified for the Super 12s. Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, Namibia, and four more teams will have to go through the first round to earn a place in Super 12s.

The official fixtures will be released in January.

This is the first time T20 World Cup being played in Australia. The tournament was originally scheduled for 2021 before the COVID-19 pandemic pushed the dates.